Mi primer día en El Salvador

Hola a todos!

So I am here. I am here. It seems surreal…almost a year of planning. On the plane I immediately recognized that I was now the ‘outsider,’ the gringa 🙂 And I sat in the wrong seat too and they had to ask me to move. The language barrier apparently affected my ability to read numbers too. But I am grateful for this uncertainty, this feeling of being outside of my comfort zone. I am now in another world completely different from my own.

On the plane and even for the 4 hours that I’ve been here so far, I have been thinking about how people from El Salvador feel stepping off the plane into an alternate universe where they, like myself, closely watch mouths to interpret the words.

After going through customs and immigration I step outside into a heavy heat, not unlike that of D.C. There is Arquímedes, the lovely cab driver my friend Irene entrusted to pick me up. He is holding a cardboard sign that reads “Kate Seehy.” He tells me his car is in the shop so his friend Roberto Carlos is driving. He pulls up in a little yellow car. As we are putting my luggage in the car, the police tell us to move so Roberto starts driving as Arquimedes and I are loading the luggage.

We leave the airport and I am just staring at everything: the people sitting in hammocks under tin roofs where they are selling “agua de coco,” the green, lush trees, the cars that look familiar but somehow different, and I watch the men driving me as they answer phone calls, ask me questions and talk each other. I ask about the coconut and Arquimedes tells Roberto to pull over. We buy three coconut waters, a straw coming straight out of the coconut. I was a little hesitant, I have to admit, because I have been warned multiple times about being careful what I drink. But I take a sip. It’s cold and delicious. My first little leap of many to come.

I took some video of my car ride into San Salvador…


About almadeelsalvador

I am a multimedia journalist working in San Salvador, El Salvador.

8 responses to “Mi primer día en El Salvador”

  1. Debbie J says :

    I miss u! I’d like to see yer hair color. Thanks…

  2. Doria Hupp says :

    I am so very proud of you Kate. I will follow your adventure. God be with you and I pray for your safety. You are an amazing young woman and I love you so, so much. I can’t wait to see your next blog.

    Love you Babe
    Aunt Doria

  3. Rhandi says :

    So proud of you Kate for living your dream! Great to see that you arrived safe. Nice work- your Spanish sounds good (confirmed by my fluent hubby). Post often, I want to read all about your adventure! Love you!

  4. Dawn Davis says :

    We are so excited for you Kate. We will follow your blog faithfully. Your Mom and Dad are coming down the week-end of the 6th so I am sure they will have more to share. Remember how much you are love and in our thoughts daily. Aunt Dawn and your bay area family.

    • almadeelsalvador says :

      I love you Aunt Dawn. Thank you for your support. I love reading comments from the family! I am so happy I can share my experience with you this way. Hugs and kisses from El Salvador.

  5. Christine Reisbeck says :

    What a journey you are taking, Kate!! How wonderful for all of us that you are sharing the Adventure with us! God bless you with all that is good and keep you safe…..Cousin Christine

  6. Christine Reisbeck says :

    What a journey you are taking, Kate!! How wonderful for all of us that you are sharing the Adventure with us! God bless you with all that is good and keep you safe…..Cousin Christine

  7. Douglas Paul Sheehy says :

    Hey Hanna P. I hope we can talk this evening cuz I am missing you terribly. Papa

Leave a Reply

